Select Page

Nominations open for Boorowa Australia Day awards

Oct 24, 2018

It’s time to give a shout out to the unsung heroes of the Hilltops Region who make a positive difference to our community by nominating them for an Australia Day Award, to be presented at the 2019 Australia Day Celebrations, with nominations now open for various award categories in Boorowa.

Hilltops Mayor Brian Ingram said the awards are an opportunity to recognise individuals and groups across the Hilltops Region who help, give or campaign for the benefit of the community and others.

“It is important to acknowledge and thank these special people and the Australia Day Awards are a great way to do this. The awards also inspire others to become involved and continue building on the work already being carried out by these generous people who give their time and effort so selflessly to the community,” Mayor Ingram said.

Hilltops Councillor and member of the Boorowa Australia Day Committee Wendy Tuckerman said the awards help shine a light on the efforts of those who so often fly under the radar.

“This is an excellent opportunity to provide formal recognition to residents who have demonstrated an outstanding community service and a contribution to the progress and growth of our area,” Councillor Tuckerman said.

“I encourage everyone to get involved and help ensure that this year we get a record number of nominations for the Australia Day awards in Boorowa.” she said.

Nominations for the Boorowa Australia Day Awards are now open in the following categories

  • Sports Awards
  • Community Awards

For information on the following awards please contact the relevant organisation below:

  • Lions/Apex Citizen of the Year
  • Rotary Young Achiever of the year
  • Landcare Awards
  • Rural Fire Service Awards

Councillor Tuckerman said those interested in nominating a local resident for a sports or community award should contact the Chair of the Boorowa Australia Day Committee, John Snelling.

Nominations for awards coordinated by specific community groups and organisations can be made by contacting that organisation directly.  Mayor Ingram will announce the award recipients on Australia Day, 26 January 2019.

Media Contact
Sarah Karaitiana 0418 755 092